Deferred Cascaded Shadow Maps

For my next sample I was planning on extending my deferred shadow maps sample to implement cascaded shadow maps.  I got an email asking about how to make the sample look decent with large viewing distances which is exactly the problem CSM’s solve.  So I decided to bump up my plans a little early and get the code up and running.  It’ll be a while before I get the write-up finished, but until then feel free to play around with code (PC and 360 projects included).


  1. I’ve updated the code to support stable cascaded shadow maps (so that the shadows don’t shimmer when the camera moves or rotates). I used the code from the DirectX SDK’s cascaded shadow map sample.

    You can view the changes here (updates the CalculateFrustum function on line 223 in ShadowRenderer.cs):

Leave a Reply

